The Connecticut Legislature this week approved a sweeping 300-page cannabis legalization and regulation bill on June 17, 2021. With Gov. Ned Lamont’s signature, the adult-use bill will become law and take effect on 12:01 a.m., on July 1, in less than two weeks.
The legislation passed in the Connecticut House of Representatives 76-62 Wednesday night, reports WFSB. It then moved on to the Senate, which voted just before noon on Thursday, passing the bill 16 to 11. Nine lawmakers did not cast votes.
“The states surrounding us already, or soon will, have legal adult-use markets,” Governor Lamont said. “Connecticut residents will benefit from the portion of cannabis revenues that will be dedicated to prevention and recovery services.”
Creating Equity In Licensing
Sales of marijuana will generate tax revenue, $10 million to start and up to $75 million in five years. Equity, though, is a major part of the new law. Some of the licenses must be awarded to entrepreneurs in distressed communities.
Governor Lamont had this week threatened a veto after lawmakers changed an equity provision in the law. But the governor relented after legislators, at his request, had hastily removed the section they’d just added to the bill.
Democratic State Senator Gary Winfield championed this legislation. He said he hopes it will undo historic damage criminalization has done to those of color. “At least for us here in Connecticut, much of the conversation has been about those communities that have been disproportionately impacted,” Winfield said.
What Becomes Legal Now In Connecticut?
Licensed retail cannabis stores won’t be opening until 2022. But in the meantime, what becomes legal on July 1?
Adults 21 and older can possess up to 1.5 ounces of cannabis flower legally on their person. This means you shouldn’t get in trouble for walking down the sidewalk with an ounce and a half in your pocket.
It will become legal to possess up to five ounces of flower, if stored in a locked container at your residence. Adults can also keep their allowed five ounces of flower in a vehicle’s locked glove box, or in the trunk.
Once retail pot shops open, they’ll be legally able to sell most customers up to an ounce of flower per day. Registered medical marijuana patients, however, can buy up to five ounces per day.
Connecticut’s legal 1.5 ounce personal limit and 5-ounce home lockbox limit have “equivalents” in terms of cannabis concentrates. According to the law, you can possess 7.5 grams of cannabis concentrate on your person, or any other cannabis products with up to 750mg of THC. The five ounce “lockbox” limit translates into 25 grams of cannabis concentrate or any other cannabis products with up to 2,500 milligrams of THC.
Adults can grow up to six marijuana plants at home. Three of those plants can be mature at any one time. Growing cannabis at home won’t require a license.
The full text of the new law is available here.